Skip to main content
Home / Campus News & Blogs / 15th Annual Grace College Presidential Scholarship Competition Awards $2.2 Million

15th Annual Grace College Presidential Scholarship Competition Awards $2.2 Million

Presidential Scholarship Competition Awards

Grace College hosted its 15th annual Presidential Scholarship Competition (PSC) on Feb. 16 and 17, 2018. PSC is an invitation-only scholarship competition for qualifying high school seniors. Invitations are based on academic achievement, with awards ranging from $​2​,000 scholarships to full tuition. In all, 68 scholarships were awarded, totaling​ more than​ $2.2 million.

The contestants numbered 127 from 12 states. Their average high school GPA was 4.11 with a 1330 average SAT score and a 29 average ACT score. “Presidential Scholars is a hallmark event at Grace College,” said Cindy Sisson, vice president of enrollment management and marketing at Grace. “We invite the best and brightest to compete for scholarships and the result is truly inspiring.  It’s a joy to get to know these accomplished students throughout the weekend.”

On Friday, participants enjoyed dinner and a program, followed by an opportunity to speak with faculty members. On Saturday, students competed for prizes through an interview and one-hour essay contest.

Six levels of scholarships were awarded. The 2018 Presidential Scholarship Competition recipients are:

Presidential Scholarship Competition Awards

Philip Wertz, winner of the President’s full tuition Scholarship

President’s Scholarship: full tuition

Philip Wertz of Goshen, IN

Trustee Scholarship: $80,000 total ($20,000 per year)

Kennedy Parker of Mishawaka, IN

Taylor Vroman of Seneca, IL

Faculty Scholarship: $68,000 ($17,000 per year)

Sarah Bingham of Warsaw, IN

Chasen Madsen of Winona Lake, IN

Ethan Maiyer of Ashland, OH

Emilia Tallent of Norten Shores, MI

Jael Winterholter of Fort Wayne, IN

Achievement Scholarship: $56,000 ($14,000 per year)

Faith Cole of Sault Sainte Marie, MI

Jennifer Dannemiller of Nashport, OH

Bryson Durst of Painesville, OH

Kyla Foley of Columbus, IN

Natalie Gerber of Wakarusa, IN

Kylee Gudeman of Warsaw, IN

Ann Marks of Niles, MI

Sydney Newton of Crawfordsville, IN

Alayna Trier of Columbia City, IN

Luke Turek of Sydney, MT

McClain Scholarship: $48,000 ($12,000 a year)

Sydney Black of Pickerington, OH

Hannah Brood of Rudyard, MI

Allison Brown of Auburn, IN

Tyler Brueckman of New Carlisle, OH

Nichole Cochran of Noblesville, IN

Nicole Collins of Merrimack, NH

Audrianna DeWitt of Indianapolis, IN

Alexis Elwood of Defiance, OH

Kaitlynn Gorrell of Berne, IN

Morgan Hixson of Clark, CO

Stasia Hudak of Fort Wayne, IN

Alissa Jagger of Columbia City, IN

Halley Krochta of Medina, OH

Katherine Lade of Elkhart, IN

Calyssa Lehman of Berne, IN

Christina Magers of Pendleton, IN

Rachel Schick of Oxford, MI

Lydia Thompson of Lizton, IN

Holly Unkel of Lafayette, IN

Jan Wasmuth of Kokomo, IN

In addition, Winona Merit Scholarships of $8,000 each ($2,000 per year) were awarded.

PSC is one part of the robust financial aid program at Grace College.  The college is dedicated to helping families make quality, Christian higher education affordable.  Ninety-nine percent of Grace students receive institutional financial aid.  Through the college’s comprehensive affordability and excellence program, Measure of Grace, tuition never increases after the first year of enrollment, all students receive free textbook rentals and have the option to earn a bachelor’s degree in any of Grace’s 70-plus majors in a three-year accelerated degree program.

For more information about financial aid and scholarships available at Grace, visit, call 866-974-7223 or email

Tagged With: 2018 Archives, Admissions, Scholarships and Financial Aid