Skip to main content
Home / Campus News & Blogs / Grace College’s Bremer Chosen for ICI Leadership Academy

Grace College’s Bremer Chosen for ICI Leadership Academy

Teaching Opportunities: The following schools have shared information with us regarding open teaching positions.

The Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) has selected Dr. Cheryl Bremer, dean of the School of Education at Grace College, to be part of the fourth cohort of its ICI Leadership Academy. The year-long program specializes in the talent development needs of faculty and staff members of private college campuses.

“It truly is an honor to represent Grace College as a delegate in this academy,” said Bremer. “As dean of the School of Education, I value the partnerships and collegiality of our fellow Indiana schools as we all face similar challenges in teacher education in Indiana. We have much to offer each other, and I am excited to learn and grow with these amazing colleagues. I also look forward to expanding my understanding of the higher education landscape, operations and institutional climate so that I might contribute to the well-being of Grace College.”

Dr. Kelly Arney, dean of the School of Behavioral Sciences, Kelsi Griffith, associate vice president of strategy and operations, and Dr. Laurie Owen, distinguished professor of education, have all represented Grace College at the ICI Leadership Academy in recent years.

“As Indiana’s private colleges continue charting their course into the future, it is imperative to empower emerging leaders at every echelon,” said Laura Bridges, vice president and COO at ICI. “To facilitate this, ICI has innovatively tailored the Leadership Academy to address the unique talent development needs of private college campuses in a cost-effective and easily accessible manner.”

Each participant was identified by their sponsoring college as someone whose leadership will be critical to the institution’s future.

Over the program, these aspiring leaders will gain an understanding of their institution holistically, and within the state and federal higher education landscape. Academy graduates are trained to view their college through multiple lenses (academic, financial, community involvement, and others) and to develop the leadership competencies needed for their institution’s and their own professional success.

“As we launch the fourth Leadership Academy cohort, we’re not just expanding a program; we’re sculpting a transformative force at our member institutions,” says Dottie L. King, president and CEO of ICI. “This initiative isn’t just about education; it’s a catalyst for the evolution of leadership, fostering individuals who will propel our private colleges to new heights.”

Members of the fourth cohort include:

  • Marlo Cookston, Director for Enterprise Risk & Facilities, Anderson University
  • Pamela Campbell, CFO & Vice President for Finance and Administration, Bethel University
  • Melyssa Geever, Grant Operations Coordinator, Bethel University
  • Josh Hayes, Registrar, Butler University
  • Dionne Jones-Malone, Vice President of Student Engagement and Retention, Calumet College of Saint Joseph
  • Gariot P. Louima, Senior Associate Vice President, Strategic & Diversity Initiatives, Earlham College
  • Andrew Rosner, Director of Digital Fluency, Franklin College
  • Chandler Buchfeller, Director of Residence Life and Housing, Goshen College
  • Cheryl Bremer, Dean of the School of Education, Grace College
  • Heather Buhr, Director of Student Financial Services, Hanover College
  • Valerie Young, Professor of Communication and Associate Provost for Faculty Development, Hanover College
  • Andy McKee, Director of Human Resources, Title IX Coordinator, Huntington University
  • Mike Bedel, Assistant Vice President for Finance and Accounting, Marian University
  • Natalie Tucker, Vice President and Academic Dean, Marian University’s Ancilla College
  • Qiana Hall, Associate Vice President of Enrollment Services, Martin University
  • Toni Williams, Provost and Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs, Martin University
  • Janie Szabo, Interim Human Resources Director, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
  • Michelle Egan, Special Assistant to the President, Saint Mary’s College
  • Nancy Dayton, Dean of Arts and Humanities, Professor of English, Taylor University
  • Rachel Troutman, Vice President for University Marketing and Communications, Trine University
  • Ben Johnson, Associate Dean, Schroeder School of Business, University of Evansville
  • Kristy Miller, Interim Dean, William L. Ridgway College of Arts and Sciences, University of Evansville
  • Amber Smith, Vice President, Student Experience, Success & Belonging, University of Indianapolis
  • Monica Newland, Senior Associate Director of Admissions, University of Notre Dame
  • Michelle Kuhlhorst, Associate Vice President of Enrollment Management, University of Saint Francis
  • Cassandra Spier, Executive Director of Communications and University Events, Valparaiso University
  • Kim Johnson, Director of Communications and Editor of Wabash Magazine, Wabash College
  • Allison Manwell, Assistant Athletic Director–Internal Operations, Wabash College
Tagged With: School of Education