Skip to main content
Home / Campus News & Blogs / 16th Annual Grace College Presidential Scholarship Competition Awards $2.2 Million

16th Annual Grace College Presidential Scholarship Competition Awards $2.2 Million

Grace College Presidential Scholarship Competition Awards

Grace College hosted its 16th annual Presidential Scholarship Competition (PSC) on Feb. 15 and 16, 2019. PSC is an invitation-only scholarship competition for qualifying high school seniors. Invitations are based on class rank, GPA, and SAT and ACT scores, with awards ranging from $4,000 scholarships to full tuition. In all, more than $2.2 million in scholarships were awarded.

The contestants numbered 97 from 14 states. Their average high school GPA was 4.07 with a 1312 average SAT score and a 29 average ACT score.

“The Presidential Scholarship Competition is a mainstay of Grace College,” said Dr. Mark Pohl, dean of admissions at Grace College. “Inviting the best and brightest high school seniors to our campus and getting to know them during the event is always a joy.”

On Friday, participants enjoyed dinner and a program, along with an opportunity to speak with faculty members and a panel discussion with former finalists. On Saturday, students competed for prizes through an interview and essay contest.

Awardees are chosen based on both their high school academic achievement and their performance at the PSC.  Six levels of scholarships were awarded. The 2019 Presidential Scholarship Competition recipients are:

President’s Scholarship: full tuition

Nicole Toth, of Streamwood, Ill.

Trustee Scholarship: $80,000 total ($20,000 per year)

Jaima Dewitt, of Lima, N.Y.

Bethany Seyden, of Bourbonnais, Ill.

Faculty Scholarship: $68,000 ($17,000 per year)

Elijah Fisher, of Memphis, Tenn.

Mary Mitchell, of Cicero, Ind.

Rebecca Steininger, of Bartlett, Ill.

Gabriella Massey, of Southaven, Miss.

Lauren O’Grady, of Fishers, Ind.

Achievement Scholarship: $56,000 ($14,000 per year)

Claire Hershberger, of Goshen, Ind.

Josie Edwards, of Plymouth, Ind.

Kate Schlatter, of Fort Wayne, Ind.

Kyrsten Newlon, of Richland, Mich.

Anna Manges, of Greenville, Ohio

Emma Peterson, of Crown Point, Ind.

Sarah Pepple, of Columbia City, Ind.

Shelby Nees, of Cloverdale, Ind.

Ashley Vandenboom, of Markle, Ind.

Bryden Deardorff, of Goshen, Ind.

McClain Scholarship: $48,000 ($12,000 a year)

Kaelyn Lagerwall, of Plainfield, Ill.

Madeleine Kennedy, of JB Andrews, Md.

Sadie Roberts, of New Castle, Ind.

Jaden Cardoso, of Angola, Ind.

Lillian Wallace, of Plymouth, Ind.

Jadyn Block, of Deer Creek, Ill.

Brandon Massie, of Carmel, Ind.

Austin Bowell, of Warsaw, Ind.

Ashley Shaarda, of Lucas, Ohio

Austin Strahan, of Galesburg, Mich.

Foxx Dunar, of Emmett, Ind.

Rowan Eshbach, of Lancaster, Penn.

Cameron Reagan, of Indianapolis, Ind.

Madelyn Paris, of Winona Lake, Ind.

Natalie Sell, of Hartwick, N.Y.

Hope Trentadue, of Indianapolis, Ind.

Allison Cox, of West Lafayette, Ind.

Jerilyn Ellis, of Connersville, Ind.

Joanna Erwin, of Bronson, Mich.

Codi Hunt of White Pigeon, Mich.

In addition, Winona Merit Scholarships of $4,000 each ($1,000 per year) were awarded.

PSC is one facet of the robust financial aid program at Grace College.  The college is committed to offering affordable, excellent, Christian higher education. Ninety-nine percent of Grace students receive some institutional financial aid.  Through Measure of Grace, the college’s comprehensive affordability program, tuition never increases after the first year of enrollment, all students receive free textbook rentals and can earn a bachelor’s degree in more than 70 majors in a three-year accelerated degree format.

For more information about financial aid and scholarships available at Grace College, visit, call 866-974-7223 or email

Tagged With: 2019 Archives, Admissions, Scholarships and Financial Aid