All About Professors

Erica Elliott

Winston (on the floor) and River (in the chair) are my Goldendoodles, aka “fur kids”, and are an integral part of my life. So much so, my license plate is “4MYDOGS” and they travel with me whenever possible.

Winston is a Share-A-Pet (SAP) Certified Therapy Dog. SAP is a nationally recognized non-profit organization that certifies and places pet therapy teams into organizations and institutions to provide unconditional love.

The mum represents my love for nature, being outside, working in the yard, fresh cut flowers and fall weather.

The word of God is the compass of my life.

Running was not something I thought I'd ever enjoy, but I do –both on trails and roads. I've completed a half marathon every year for the past 6 years.

Riding a bike has been a part of my life since childhood - road bike, mountain bike, or beach cruiser – I'm not picky.

I grew up in the southern states and didn’t have much exposure to winter sports. Living in Indiana for the past 6 years, I opted to embrace the cold and snow by making the most of it through snowshoeing or cross-country skiing.

My family is very important to me. The house I live in is down the street from my parents. They unexpectedly won their house during an estate auction two years prior to me moving to Indiana…God knew what he was doing!

One of my favorite places to be is on a river whether it's fly fishing, kayaking, canoeing, or just relaxing beside it. It has so much meaning to me that I named one of my Goldendoodles “River”.

I enjoy kayaking down the river or taking both of my dogs on my stand-up paddle board with me.

Fly fishing is one of my passions and has given me a chance to travel to many places around the world – Belize, Alaska, Scotland, Bahamas to name a few. It’s opened doors for me to work with organizations such as Wounded Warriors – Project Healing Waters and Casting for Recovery.

Getting to experience different parts of the world is exciting to me, and I look forward to leading many GoEncounter trips.

“Erica Bearica” was a nickname given to me at a young age, which eventually got shortened to “Bear”. My family and close friends still call me “Bear” today.

Not only does the diploma represent the value I place in higher education but it also represents a connection to Oklahoma. This is where I lived from the ages of 4-24.

I'm all about comfort and making my house a home.

No matter what the season, sandals or flip flops are my preferred footwear, but I'm realistic and will wear boots in the winter.

Peanut butter - the one food I could live on!

Gymnastics is in my blood. I started in the sport at the age of 4 and competed for many years. Since the age of 16, I have been involved as a coach, as a judge, or working on the equipment manufacturing side.