Dane Miller Inducted into The Indiana Academy for Lifetime Achievement and Contribution to Indiana

Five new members will be inducted into The Indiana Academy at its 41st annual symposium on Monday, June 6, at The Conrad Indianapolis.  This year’s honorees will be recognized by the Independent Colleges of Indiana for lifetimes of achievement and contribution to the state of Indiana.  This year’s honorees are:



  • Hon. Theodore R. Boehm (Indianapolis), Justice of the Indiana Supreme Court from 1996 to 2010 and now an arbitrator and a mediator affiliated with Van Winkle Baten Dispute Resolution; current chair of the Indianapolis Cultural Development Commission, former chairman and CEO of the organizing committee for the 1987 Pan American Games in Indianapolis, and first president and CEO of Sports Corporation; and named a Sagamore of the Wabash by three Indiana governors and recipient of the Michael Carroll Award for dedication to the Indianapolis community.
  • Leland E. Boren (Upland), chairman and CEO of Avis Industrial Corporation (Upland) and president and CEO of PHD, Inc. (Fort Wayne); owner of a 1,000-acre farm in Grant County and another 1,200 acres in Oklahoma; recipient of honorary doctorates from Taylor, Anderson, and Indiana Wesleyan Universities and named a Sagamore of the Wabash by three Indiana governors; and co-founder with gospel legend Bill Gaither of Spring Hill Music Group, Inc., in Nashville, Tennessee.
  • Michael G. Browning (Carmel), chairman of the board and president of Browning Investments, Inc., an Indianapolis-based real estate development company; board member of the Indianapolis Economic Development Commission, vice chairman of the Indianapolis Convention and Visitors Association, and board and executive committee member of the Indiana Sports Corporation; University of Notre Dame alumnus, Man of the Year, and member of its Graduate School Advisory Council; and recipient of honorary doctorates from Marian and Martin Universities.
  • Teresa S. Lubbers (Indianapolis), Commissioner for the Indiana Commission for Higher Education and former Indiana State Senator; author of Indiana’s charter school law and legislative leader in education and economic development; chair of the Productivity Committee of the State Higher Education Executive Officers and active member and past chair of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact; board member of the Indiana School for the Blind, board vice-chair of the YMCA of Greater Indianapolis, co-founder and co-chair of the Richard Lugar Excellence in Public Service Series, and former ICI board member.
  • Dane A. Miller, Ph.D. (Winona Lake), co-founder of Biomet, Inc., its president and CEO from its founding in 1978 until his retirement in 2006; and now a member of its board of directors; recipient of a Ph.D. in engineering from the University of Cincinnati and an honorary doctorate from Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology; member of Grace College’s steering committee for two of the college’s major facility campaigns; recipient of the Phoenix Lifetime Achievement Award for transforming healthcare and the August M. Watanabe Life Sciences Champion of the Year 2010.


A complete listing of Academy members may be found at http://www.icindiana.org/giving/academy.asp.  Modeled after The French Academy, The Indiana Academy was established in 1970 by the Independent Colleges of Indiana to recognize individual leadership, achievement, and philanthropy designed to promote the advancement of the state. The program of The Indiana Academy is maintained through the support of the Tony and Mary Fendrich Hulman Endowment Fund and donations from members of The Academy.

Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) is a nonprofit association that represents the state’s 31 private, nonprofit, institutions of higher education.  ICI member institutions enroll more than 87,000 students (approximately 20 percent of all undergraduates statewide) and annually produce more than 35 percent of all bachelor’s degrees in Indiana. For more information: www.icindiana.org.


Comments are closed.