Grace College Awards $2.2 Million at Presidential Scholarship Competition

This image pictures the high school students who participated in Grace College's 2017 President Scholarship Competition.

This image pictures the high school students who participated in Grace College’s 2017 President Scholarship Competition.


Grace College hosted its 14th-annual Presidential Scholarship Competition (PSC) on Friday and Saturday, Feb. 17 and 18. PSC is an invitation-only scholarship competition for qualifying high school seniors. Invitations are based on academic achievement, with awards ranging from $1,000 scholarships to full tuition. In all, 68 scholarships were awarded totaling over $2.2 million in tuition.

“PSC is one of our biggest events all year,” said Cindy Sisson, vice president of enrollment management and marketing at Grace College. “We enjoy hosting students and parents, helping to make Christ-centered, excellent higher education at Grace College attainable for families.”

Sisson went on to comment about the caliber of this year’s students.  “They were outstanding and impressive.  We had a vigorous competition among the students,” she said.  The contestants numbered 135 from 15 states and Austria. Their average high school GPA was 4.054 with a 1330 average SAT score and a 29 ACT score.

On Friday, participants enjoyed dinner and a program, followed by an opportunity to speak with faculty members. On Saturday, students competed for first prize through an interview and one-hour essay contest.

Six levels of scholarship were awarded.  The 2017 Presidential Scholarship Competition recipients are:

President’s Scholarship: full tuition

Kathryn Bradley of Milford, Ohio


Trustee Scholarship: $80,000 total ($20,000 per year)

Sydney Perry of Valparaiso, Ind.

Kira Riddle of Indianapolis, Ind.


Faculty Scholarship: $68,000 total ($17,000 per year)

Sarah Foster of Wakarusa, Ind.

Zacary Harley of Burbank, Ohio

Daniel Negowski of Bath, Ohio

Abigail Roeder of Sulphur Springs, Ind.

Adelaide Sutter of Springfield, Ohio


Achievement Scholarship: $56,000 ($14,000 per year)

Megan Cardin of Winona Lake, Ind.

Jonathan Clayton of Hartsville, Ind.

Lydia DeBoest of Warsaw, Ind.

Anna Edwards of Liberty Township, Ohio

Liesl Greider of Beach Park, Ill.

Houston Haney of Shipshewana, Ind.

Mackenzie Moeller of Barrington, Ill.

Nicole Samuelson of Wheaton, Ill.

Lauren Scott of Webster Grove, Mo.

Taylor Traut of Brownsburg, Ind.


McClain Scholarship: $48,000 ($12,000 per year)

Emily Anderson of Coos Bay, Ore.

Cooper Beer of Fort Wayne, Ind.

Ashley Beer of Milford, Ind.

Amelia Crabtree of Indianapolis, Ind.

Karyssa Davis of LaGrange, Ind.

Katlyn Downing of Reynoldsburg, Ohio

Brenna Garner of Bristol, Ind.

Kara Godsey of Reynoldsburg, Ohio

Madeline Kearns of Springfield, Ohio

Camryn Kline of Plainfield, Ind.

Elizabeth Manning of Garden City, Mich.

Alayna Maxwell of Buchanan, Mich.

Sierra Perdew of Pittsboro, Ind.

Anna Poel of Aurora, Ill.

Natalie Revesz of Richfield, Ohio

Hannah Rose of New Palestine, Ind.

Madalyn Schrader of Irwin, Ohio

Rachel Starrett of Milford, Ill.

Mara Swankler of Waynesboro, Pa.

Seth Tew of Dayton, Ohio

Katherine Walthour of Mansfield, Ohio


In addition, Winona Merit Scholarships of $4,000 each ($1,000 per year) were awarded to 30 students.

PSC is one part of the robust financial aid program at Grace College.  The college is dedicated to helping families make quality, Christian higher education affordable.  Ninety-nine percent of Grace students receive institutional financial aid.  Through the college’s comprehensive affordability and excellence program, Measure of Grace, tuition decreases by $500 each consecutive year of enrollment, all students receive free textbook rentals and have the option to earn a bachelor’s degree in any of Grace’s 70-plus majors in a three-year accelerated degree program.

For more information about financial aid and scholarships available at Grace, visit, call 866-974-7223 or email


Comments are closed.